It’s OK if life changes

It’s OK if life changes

Today I heard the amazing news that a close relative of mine and his wife are expecting their second child. Naturally I was overjoyed for them, yet it brought me to thinking about my life.

Currently, my life is completely different to how I had imagined it would be some years ago. Different in a good way as I really do love my life right now. I wouldn’t say it was perfect but who’s is? When you’re born and raised in a working class town your life plan is kind of set in stone for you. Not many people are educated past high school and the ones who are get dubbed for trying to be better than what they should be. Having children, getting married and working a dead-end job are all expected from you no questions asked. When I decided that I wanted to go to university after college friends and family were shocked but supportive either way. Unfortunately this isn’t always the case. So many talented people miss out on the chance to better themselves because they’re scared of what people around them will say and think. This is the one thing that really irritates me. Why hold somebody back just because these opportunities weren’t really available years ago?

Looking back, I would of imagined myself working in retail maybe, one or two children, being either engaged or married and still living in the same depressing town. Oh how different my life did turn out to be. Successful job, living in London, no children or spouse but that is the way I like it…for now! In all honesty if a certain medical problem hadn’t of happened I probably would be living a dull life in the dull town. If one good thing came out of me dealing with a lot of loss, it’s given me the courage to find myself a better life and taught me to create dreams to follow.

Moral of the story – people need to open their minds to new ideas and possibilities. After all, it’s the 21st century!!

2 thoughts on “It’s OK if life changes

  1. I’m so happy I found your blog via meetmeinnevada! I love the layout and the way you right and reflect on life! You truly never know when/what type of opportunity will present itself to you and I believe thats the magic of life! Looking forward to reading more from you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

